Fix the Slow Startup Time of My Java Application Running on macOS Sierra

Fix the Slow Startup Time of My Java Application Running on macOS Sierra

http://ift.tt/2qytgUb

At my current project, we’re developing an application based on Spring Boot. During my normal development cycle, I always start the application from within IntelliJ by means of a run configuration that deploys the application to a local Tomcat container. Spring Boot applications can run perfectly fine with an embedded container, but since we deploy the application within a Tomcat container in our acceptance and production environments, I always stick to the same deployment manner on my local machine.

After joining the project in March, one thing always kept bugging me. When I started the application with IntelliJ, it always took more than 60 seconds to start the deployed application, which I thought was pretty long given the size of the application. My teammates always said they found it strange, as well, but nobody bothered to spend the time to investigate the cause.

java

via DZone.com Feed https://dzone.com

May 12, 2017 at 06:27AM

Leave a Reply

